june 20th, 2023

let's make a music

It's been an entire month since I last posted! Sorry about that. Things happened that were blogworthy but I just didn't feel like writing new entries for a while. Anyway, I'm like a real music guy now. I don't think I've really mentioned it much yet on this blog, but I play the guitar. I've been playing since like November. I'm okay at it. I can't improvise literally at all, but I can play prewritten solos and learn to cover some simple songs in like 20 minutes. I also have a band. Well, like, sorta-kinda a band. It's me and my brother Mason and my cousin Alex. I play guitar like I just said five sentences ago, Mason plays the drums, and Alex plays bass. We're like Nirvana if they were incompetent and had an average age of 12. We are a covers band since we don't have enough original songs to call ourselves a regular band yet. Our band's name is Jaders (not The Jaders, it's like Foo Fighters and Pixies). We don't get to rehearse all together often, but me and my brother play a lot, and we always play together every time Alex is able to come over for a bit. On Sunday, for fathers day, we played a concert in my backyard. Alex didn't play this time, since he doesn't know most of the songs we were going to do and we thought it was better to not have bass at all than to have it for like 1 song and then that's it. The set was:
- My Name Is Jonas (Weezer cover)
- Island In The Sun (Weezer cover)
- Hash Pipe (Weezer cover)
- Pork and Beans (Weezer cover)
- Buddy Holly (Weezer cover)
- All Apologies (Nirvana cover)
- A Favor House Atlantic (Coheed and Cambria cover)
- Elderly Woman Behind The Counter In A Small Town (Pearl Jam cover)
I messed up a lot, but it's only really noticeable on video, and also in Buddy Holly because I literally screwed up the entire bridge lol. That was kinda embarassing. ANYWAY playing guitar is the most fun thing ever and it is my greatest passion in life. Me and Alex are trying to write more original songs, but it takes a long time, and I'm kinda a perfectionist so I end up throwing out perfectly good ideas that I have all the time. I feel like my writing is way drier in this entry than in previous ones, but whatever. I'll post a picture of me and the gang on the pictures page, maybe. Ben out.

prev : back to index : next